What I learned in 2009

Hello, I’m April Dawn, and I’m blogging for Shiela Stewart this week, so I thought I would share a little of what I learned in 2009.
Now that 2009 has come to an end, I thought I would share what I learned. I did a lot of research, both before and after getting my contract for Bound By Love (Jan 29) and Crushing Desire (Feb 12) from Breathless Press. (breathlesspress.com)

I thought I would share what I have learned in a handy what I learned in 2009 post so other authors could benefit from all my hours of research.

In 2009, while doing research I learned-

-Editing is one of the most important parts of writing.

-Repetitive words must be reduced

-You should always show. Don’t tell.

-You should send your manuscript to more than one agent/publisher. One may not like it,but another may love it, and if you make the big push and send to four or five agents at once, the first rejection won’t scare you off forever.

-Always check preditors and editors before submitting work to an agent or editor, especially if they request your work.

-Ask an agent for a week or two to think about any offer they give you.Formulate questions to ask them during that time, and make sure you give other agents you queried notice so they have a chance to offer well.

-Always be gracious, no matter what. You never know who knows who.

-Build a website that suits your novels, not your personal taste. If you write sweet romance, don’t use black and red with the image of the hot chick bending over the car. It sends wrong signals to your potential readers.

-Write helpful and interesting articles, tweets, and posts for the websites you have joined. People are more likely to add you if you are interesting.

-Join writing groups, clubs, etc. Go to conferences, events, etc. Get yourself out there.

-Set goals and stick to them.

In 2009, I learned personally-

-Don’t use the same email you submit queries with to create your newsletter. Eventually someone will mark it
spam and then all your queries will go to spam. Instead use a separate email for these things.

-Editors are a great help to any author, and if you get the right one, it can be magic.

-Social networking is a fun and interesting way to get information out to the readers.

-There are a number of websites for authors, including authors den, and goodreads, where you can post a profile of yourself.

-Almost as much work goes into marketing your book as into writing it.(There will be an article on this specifically coming soon.)

-Other authors can help you find opportunities that you might normally miss, so be sure to keep your ears open around author friends and blogposts.

-Writing is a real job, and if you want to make it, you have to think of it as such.

-Contests can be a fun way to spread information and gain new readers and friends.

In 2010, I hope to learn what it is like to

-Have a great review (or many of them.)

-Get a great agent.

-See my novels in Barnes and Nobel.

-See someone reading my novels on the street.

-Hit 1000+ followers on Twitter.

-Have another reader send me an email telling my how much they enjoyed one of my novels.

If I achieve even one or two of these in 2010, I will be a happy camper. If I achieve them all *crosses fingers* I will probably faint. lol


April Dawn

About April Dawn

Hello, my name is April Dawn. I live in California with my loving husband and a beautiful baby boy who was born in '08. I enjoy reading, travel, and music. I have always loved to read. I have read voraciously for more than twenty years now. (OOPs, guess I'm showing my age there.) I have a love of suspense, fantasy, PI and police crime novels, and so many others, but I have a real soft spot for historical romance. I think I wrote my first official romance scene when I was about fifteen or so. It consisted of a girl being taken aboard a pirate ship and falling madly for the captain. I wish I still had that writing, because it would be real fun to read what I wrote like back then. I started writing seriously in 2002, and finished my first novel that year which retained the title "Romance Novel" for more than five years. Now titled Bound by Love, and available through Breathless Press. I have since finished two other novels that were lucky enough to be named something other than "Romance Novel". My current work in progress, The Piratess, stars a female pirate named Cat. In the future, I hope to be able to bring more of my characters into the world as I work to finish and publish the other novels that I have begun. Stay tuned to meet all the pirates, gunslingers and thieves that run through my head. Hopefully you will love them as much as I do. At this time I have about fifteen novels in the works, and enjoy the lives of the characters so much that I am sure I will finish them all within the few years. I am currently in the process being published, and hope that I will have release information coming soon for some of my novels. I hope you enjoy the site, and come back to look for samples and release dates often, or perhaps just to read the blog. Feel free to sign the guestbook, or join us to get updates.
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I learned in 2009

  1. saukra says:

    Wow, April, you learned a lot in 2009. After reading your post and what you had learned, I was thinking about what I had learned–thinking it wasn’t much. But then I realized I had learned many things over the last year. To many to list, lol.
    So I will start with what I would like to accomplish over 2010. I would like to finish the second round of crits on my WIP–revise, rewrite, etc, etc, go through another round of crits–hopfully final. Go to at least one writing conference, attend more meetings of my local RWA chapter and start querying to agents. Also submit at least three short stories to magazines.
    I think that’s all I will ask of myself for this year.

  2. April Dawn says:

    I hope you are able to accomplish at least some, if not all, of your goals this year.
    Thanks for the comment

Leave a Reply

