Breaking Up Is Hard to Do

Or… how do you mend a broken heart?

There are a lot of songs about breaking up. Nearly as many as there are about falling in love. Some break ups are easy to deal with. Others hurt so much you think you’ll never get over it.

You’re probably wondering what on earth I’m doing talking about break-ups on a romance blog. Believe it or not, it does make sense. Because sometimes what helps us get over a break up is finding someone new. Not right away, of course. It does take time to heal, especially if the break up was especially nasty or came after a long relationship. Sooner or later, though, you have to try again.

I’ve heard the saying many times that you have to kiss a lot of frogs to find your prince. Or princess, as the case may be. There are people who are fortunate enough to find their true match the first time out. Most of us have heard about people who married their high school, or even junior high or elementary school, sweetheart and decades later are as happy as they’ve ever been. For most of us, it just doesn’t work that way.

Again you ask, what does this have to do with romance? Well, what’s romance? Isn’t it about that first blush of meeting someone new, finding out how compatible you are? Feeling that rush of warmth that flows through you when you look into his or her eyes. Wanting to be with them all the time.

So you’ve dated someone for months. Maybe even years. Lived together, talked about marriage. And then all of a sudden, it’s over. Maybe you had a fight. Maybe you just grew apart. All you know is, part of your heart has just been ripped out and you’re never going to let anyone that close to you again.

Then one day, you meet someone. A spark is struck. You want to see them again, even though you’re still hurting from that break up. Whenever you’re near them, this weird feeling fills you. It might be happiness. Or love, except you’ve decided you’re done with that.

At first, you try to keep that person at arm’s length. If you let them too close, they might hurt you. Been there, done that, don’t want the shirt. No matter how hard you try, though, you can’t help letting them into your life. And into the heart you’d slammed shut.

And that’s what breaking up has to do with romance. After a break up, you might close your heart and think it’s forever, but someday you do find someone worth opening up for again. Maybe someone who’s even better for you than the one you ended things with. Someone you can love.

And that’s what romance is all about.

Karenna Colcroft

About April Dawn

Hello, my name is April Dawn. I live in California with my loving husband and a beautiful baby boy who was born in '08. I enjoy reading, travel, and music. I have always loved to read. I have read voraciously for more than twenty years now. (OOPs, guess I'm showing my age there.) I have a love of suspense, fantasy, PI and police crime novels, and so many others, but I have a real soft spot for historical romance. I think I wrote my first official romance scene when I was about fifteen or so. It consisted of a girl being taken aboard a pirate ship and falling madly for the captain. I wish I still had that writing, because it would be real fun to read what I wrote like back then. I started writing seriously in 2002, and finished my first novel that year which retained the title "Romance Novel" for more than five years. Now titled Bound by Love, and available through Breathless Press. I have since finished two other novels that were lucky enough to be named something other than "Romance Novel". My current work in progress, The Piratess, stars a female pirate named Cat. In the future, I hope to be able to bring more of my characters into the world as I work to finish and publish the other novels that I have begun. Stay tuned to meet all the pirates, gunslingers and thieves that run through my head. Hopefully you will love them as much as I do. At this time I have about fifteen novels in the works, and enjoy the lives of the characters so much that I am sure I will finish them all within the few years. I am currently in the process being published, and hope that I will have release information coming soon for some of my novels. I hope you enjoy the site, and come back to look for samples and release dates often, or perhaps just to read the blog. Feel free to sign the guestbook, or join us to get updates.
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breaking Up Is Hard to Do

  1. Neecy says:

    Yes breaking up is hard to do, and healing a broken heart is as well. A lesson is learned behind every relationship whether it’s friend or foe.

    As the saying goes when one door closes, another opens.

    I guess we can count ourselves lucky if we find the one true love that fills your senses completely. I would rather have loved and lost a thousand times, then never have had the chance to experience it at all.
    Neecy.

  2. saukra says:

    I loved this post! And yes, heartache and pain–conflict–sadly are part of romance.

  3. raynene says:

    Breaking up is definitely part of romance, although not usually the most fun part. But, as readers–and writers–of romance, that needs to part of the excitement of romance. We need to learn from the hard times, right? This post hit the nail right on the head…perhaps heartache can keep us from taking things for granted.

Leave a Reply

